Click the Icon below to go back to the Stun Gun and Pepper Spray "law" and restrictions  page

Wisconsin: Legal with Restrictions

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, it is a Class H felony to carry, sell, transport, manufacture, or possesses a stun gun, unless you are located on property you own, lease, or legally occupy. Concealed weapon permit holders, peace officers, and selected others are exempt from this law. Transporting a stun gun is allowed if the stun gun is enclosed within a carrying case. (Wis. Stat. Ann. § 941.295.)

Wisconsin law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Those under the age of 18 may not possess or carry a stun gun
unless supervised by an adult providing instruction in the proper and traditional use of the stun gun. Violating this law is a
Class A misdemeanor. Anyone who intentionally sells, loans, or gives a stun gun to a minor under the age of 18 is guilty of a
Class I felony, or a Class H felony if the minor discharges the stun gun and the discharge kills the minor or another person.

(Wis. Stat. Ann. § 948.60.)

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry or use a stun gun on school premises. However, a secured stun gun may be kept in a vehicle,
provided that the vehicle is located on the school premises for a school-sanctioned purpose or to pick up or drop off passengers
or property. The stun gun may not be removed from the vehicle or used in any manner. For purposes of this law, “school premises” means any school building, grounds, recreation area, athletic field, or any other property owned, used, or operated
for school administration. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from this rule. Violating this rule is a Class A misdemeanor. Subsequent violations of this rule within a five year period is a Class I felony. (Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 948.61, 939.22.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone whose negligent use of a stun gun causes bodily harm to another commits a Class I felony, punishable by a fine
of up to $10,000, up to 42 months in prison, or both. (Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 940.24, 939.50.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a Class H felony to carry, sell, transport, manufacture, or possesses a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to six years in prison, or both. (Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 941.295, 939.50.)

It is a Class A misdemeanor to carry a stun gun on school premises. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000,
up to 9 months in jail, or both. Subsequent violations of this rule within a five year period are a Class I felony,
punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, 42 months in prison, or both.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 948.61, 939.22, 939.51, 939.50.)

Make a free website with Yola