Click the Icon below to go back to the Stun Gun and Pepper Spray "law" and restrictions  page

IOWA: Legal with Restrictions

In Iowa, it is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun without a concealed weapons permit unless you are located
on your own property. Peace officers, members of the armed forces, and correctional officers are exempt from this rule.

702.7  DANGEROUS WEAPON DEFINED

A "dangerous weapon" is any instrument or device designed primarily for use in inflicting death or injury upon a human being
or animal, and which is capable of inflicting death upon a human being when used in the manner for which it was designed.  Dangerous weapons include... any portable device or weapon directing an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces
a high-voltage pulse designed to immobilize a person. In Iowa, most people may purchase, openly possess,
or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

Situations or Circumstances where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal:

  • It is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun without a concealed weapons permit unless you are located on your own property. Peace officers, members of the armed forces, and correctional officers are exempt from this rule.
  • It is illegal to carry a stun gun (openly or concealed) with the intent to use the stun gun on another person,
    without justification.
  • Prohibits the possession of stun guns(openly or concealed, even with a valid concealed weapons permit) in state buildings
    on the capitol complex. Peace officers and members of the armed forces are exempt from this rule.

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a Class D felony to carry a stun gun (openly or concealed) with the intent to use the stun gun, without justification, on another person. Penalties include a fine of $750 (and up to $7,500), up to five years in prison, or both. (Iowa Code §§ 702.7, 708.8, 902.9.)

It is an aggravated misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun without a concealed weapons permit. Penalties include a fine of $625 (and up to $6,250), up to two years in prison, or both. (Iowa Code §§ 702.7, 724.4, 903.1.)

Make a free website with Yola